A Publication of the Public Library Association Public Libraries Online

Books & More, Indie and Self-Published E-book Reviews

Book Review – Permafrost by Peter Robertson

by Barb Macikas, Executive Director, Public Library Association on November 26, 2012

Editor’s Note:  This is the first in a new series of reviews of independently published books. We are aiming to provide reviews of independently published books and e-books that your patrons might enjoy. Check back often to see what we’ve uncovered! Interested in reviewing? Contact us here.

Book Review  – Permafrost by Peter Robertson

Behind the wheel of his luxury sedan and stopped in traffic, a man scans the newspaper and learns a friend from his childhood in Scotland has gone missing, last seen alone on a borrowed bicycle near a small town in Northern Michigan.  Neither authorities in the U.S. nor the U.K. seem interested in the disappearance.

The decision to search for Keith Pringle is made in an instant by his long-ago friend, now entrepreneur and soon to be unwitting detective Tom. It’s a quick decision for a man who “displayed impeccable manners and looked earnestly concerned when he had to,” one who “had taken no chances.” And it forces Tom to reckon with other decisions that have led to an ordered and comfortable life in Chicago.

This fine first novel contrasts the lives of two men who start out amid similar circumstances but whose paths diverge until they are violently reconnected on a stretch of Michigan beach. Along the way, we are treated to well drawn characters and places and a great music playlist that serves as backdrop and window into Tom’s mind. I highly recommend Permafrost.  Mystery readers who enjoy Michael Connelly, John Harvey, and Reginald Hill will enjoy it.

Book info:

  • Paperback: 228 pages
  • Publisher: Gibson House ( Publication date June 9, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0985515805
  • ISBN-13: 978-0985515805

Digital

  • File Size: 444 KB
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Gibson House Publishers; 1 edition (June 9, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0088QDP9Q
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled

Tags: ,



Leave a comment

Name required

Website