A Publication of the Public Library Association Public Libraries Online
white ear buds on pink background

Five Recommended Pop-Culture Podcasts

I am surprised how much I like podcasts. I was never a fan of audiobooks, and therefore thought I would never get into podcasts either. And, if you are anything like me, constantly short on time, podcasts will keep you up to date and informed, all on your schedule.

yield road sign that says net neutrality background of small white padlocks

Net Neutrality is Dead. For Now.

While this is a huge change that could endanger equal access to the internet, the American Library Association (and other organizations) continue to press for a restoration of Net Neutrality laws.

Binder label that says GDPR Compliance on top of papers that say regulations

GDPR and American Public Libraries

You may be asking yourself, “What in the world does this have to do with me, isn’t this just a EU regulation?” Well, yes and no. GDPR effects any business that handles the personal data of someone living in the EU. As we all know, the internet is worldwide. Many businesses have customers living not only in Europe, but the United States, Australia, Brazil, etc. GDPR requires companies to change how they collect, store, and share customers’ information.

Hannah Pittard Author Photo

Hannah Pittard on the Complexity and Messiness of Life

Hannah Pittard’s sweeping Visible Empire focuses on the aftermath of a real-life plane crash in 1961, which claimed the lives of over 100 Atlantans traveling home after an extended art tour of Paris. Pittard employs her formidable skills to focus on how the crash affects four Atlantans: Robert Tucker, a middle-aged newspaper editor whose mistress was on the plane; his wife, Lily, who is eight months pregnant with their first child; Piedmont Dobbs, a teenager who was recently denied the chance of being one of the first African-American students to integrate Atlanta’s Public Schools; and Anastasia Rivers, a calculating grifter who uses the crash as a springboard to a better life.

Kenneth Bonert Author Photo

Kenneth Bonert on Finding the Right Tone to Make the Story Come Alive

Kenneth Bonert’s The Mandela Plot is a propulsive literary thriller set in late 80’s Johannesburg, when eighteen year-old Martin Helger’s life is upended upon the arrival of Annie, an intriguing American college student. Annie quickly proves to have a bevy of  secrets, and Martin is soon exposed to a world far different than his sheltered working class […]

First place ribbon

Article on RA Services to the Grieving Wins First Place in PL Contest

Congratulations to our first place winner ($500) Nicolette Warisse Sosulski, for her article “Excuse Me, Is There a Loss Section?-Readers Advisory to the Grieving and Bereaved.” 

computer keyboard with one key GDPR in blue with the date 25/05/18 and an image of a lock

The General Data Protection Regulation and U.S. Public Libraries

The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is a European-Union (EU) wide regulation that unifies European data privacy laws and also codifies the personal data protection rights of residents. It was enacted to provide European citizens with full control over the data that is collected and stored about them.

illustration of hand-shaking

In Practice: Civility

In other blog posts I have expressed my beliefs that especially in today’s world, civility is imperative.  I have also expressed a belief that librarians have a responsibility to lead tolerance.  In response to these expressed beliefs some have challenged civility is a silencing tool of oppression and that tolerance is an unacceptable dodge of acceptance.  I believe these responses indicate experiences in which civility or tolerance have not been practiced.

blocks arranged to spell new job

New Job? New Library? What Do You Wish You Knew?

Reading a job description and researching a library doesn’t tell you everything you need to know when you begin a first job. What do you wish you knew?

Jeff Bercovici Author Photo

Jeff Bercovici on Fitness, Freshness, and Redefining “Peak Age”

Jeff Bercovici’s Play On: The New Science of Elite Performance at Any Age is an in-depth exploration of how elite athletes have managed to prolong their careers in recent years, transforming how our culture views fitness in the process. Through interviews with numerous sports scientists and athletes, Bercovici guides the reader through the latest scientific breakthroughs and training strategies that enable older athletes to not only maintain their competitive edge, but in many instances tower over their competitors.

Caleb Roehrig Author Photo

Caleb Roehrig on Representation, Stealing Books From His Mom, and Writing Unlikeable Characters

Caleb Roehrig’s twisty White Rabbit centers around high school sophomore Rufus Holt, who’s thrust into the role of amateur detective when his hard-partying half-sister awakes next to the corpse of her boyfriend and enlists Rufus to clear her name. Complicating matters is that Rufus’ ex-boyfriend, Sebastien, has chosen the exact same night to try to reconcile after their tumultuous break-up a month earlier. For the next several hours, Rufus and Sebastien attempt to get to the bottom of the murder, bumping up against vicious classmates, tyrannous drug dealers, and an insidious new designer drug wrecking havoc on the community.

Indie Book Review

Cubsessions: Famous Fans of Chicago’s North Side Baseball Team & Their Stories of Pain, Loyalty, Hope and (Finally) Joy

It is perhaps the biggest sports story in American history: The Chicago Cubs. After 108 years without a championship and decades as our pop culture symbol of futility, the Cubs won the World Series in 2016. From the many years of frustration to the joy of finally winning it all, there are many remarkable stories of Cubs fandom.

computer with lock and chain

A Threat to Democracy: The End of Net Neutrality

The end of net neutrality is a threat to our democracy, even if the signs are not yet clear.

diverse people standing around a globe

Libraries Are For Everyone

The library is a cornerstone and sustainer of democracy.

signpost with one sign pointing in opposite directions one reads changes and the other stagnation

We Are Never Not Changing

As soon as we give up on change, we run the risk of falling behind. Therefore, instead of change management we should embrace change readiness.