A Publication of the Public Library Association Public Libraries Online
Jeff Bercovici Author Photo

Jeff Bercovici on Fitness, Freshness, and Redefining “Peak Age”

Jeff Bercovici’s Play On: The New Science of Elite Performance at Any Age is an in-depth exploration of how elite athletes have managed to prolong their careers in recent years, transforming how our culture views fitness in the process. Through interviews with numerous sports scientists and athletes, Bercovici guides the reader through the latest scientific breakthroughs and training strategies that enable older athletes to not only maintain their competitive edge, but in many instances tower over their competitors.

Caleb Roehrig Author Photo

Caleb Roehrig on Representation, Stealing Books From His Mom, and Writing Unlikeable Characters

Caleb Roehrig’s twisty White Rabbit centers around high school sophomore Rufus Holt, who’s thrust into the role of amateur detective when his hard-partying half-sister awakes next to the corpse of her boyfriend and enlists Rufus to clear her name. Complicating matters is that Rufus’ ex-boyfriend, Sebastien, has chosen the exact same night to try to reconcile after their tumultuous break-up a month earlier. For the next several hours, Rufus and Sebastien attempt to get to the bottom of the murder, bumping up against vicious classmates, tyrannous drug dealers, and an insidious new designer drug wrecking havoc on the community.

Indie Book Review

Cubsessions: Famous Fans of Chicago’s North Side Baseball Team & Their Stories of Pain, Loyalty, Hope and (Finally) Joy

It is perhaps the biggest sports story in American history: The Chicago Cubs. After 108 years without a championship and decades as our pop culture symbol of futility, the Cubs won the World Series in 2016. From the many years of frustration to the joy of finally winning it all, there are many remarkable stories of Cubs fandom.

computer with lock and chain

A Threat to Democracy: The End of Net Neutrality

The end of net neutrality is a threat to our democracy, even if the signs are not yet clear.

diverse people standing around a globe

Libraries Are For Everyone

The library is a cornerstone and sustainer of democracy.

signpost with one sign pointing in opposite directions one reads changes and the other stagnation

We Are Never Not Changing

As soon as we give up on change, we run the risk of falling behind. Therefore, instead of change management we should embrace change readiness.

illustration of a recipe

Recipe Club: The Most Delicious Library Group

Once a month, twice a month, or weekly, you can have a group that loves to talk about food! What could be better?

homeless

Sacramento Library Workers Learn Mental Health First Aid

Sacramento library employees are going through training courses to be able to properly provide assistance to customers who are suffering from a mental illness.

laptop computer open notebook and pen

Digital Literacy Support in Libraries: More than Just Your Computer Classes

Digital literacy initiatives within local libraries are imperative to helping our patrons create and upload resumes, sign up and use email to communicate with friends and family, download an app to get a ride to the airport, create and edit a presentation to share at work, search for a new doctor online, create a movie to complete a school project, communicate with a computer technician when their device has issues, and so much more.

people having a meeting

Shifting Expectations for Staff in a 21st Century Library

To stay competitive in the today’s attention economy, it’s imperative that we pay attention.   

book shelves

Importance of a Collection’s Inclusivity

Wanting to have certain items labeled in a manner that excludes them from the importance of the overall collection is marginalizing, at best, and, more likely the case, insidious, at worst.

giant hand picking up tiny employee by head illustration

The Dangers of Micromanagement

If you’ve worked in a library for any considerable amount of time, chances are you’ve experienced micromanagement on some level.

Masked face behind laptop

People Don’t Care About Privacy 

When user data is king, libraries get left behind.

ALA Spectrum Scholars-Dispatches from PLA 2018

The Youth Opportunity Design Approach (YODA)

Did the word “YODA” catch your eye too?  Anything involving a little green, gruff voiced Star Wars icon would get anyone’s attention, right?  Well that and anything involving “Youth” jumps out at me too.  I attended PLA’s “The Youth Opportunity Design Approach” and got more than I anticipated!

ALA Spectrum Scholars-Dispatches from PLA 2018

Preserving Local African American History at the Public Library

While working for Athens Regional Library System (ARLS), archivist Angela Stanley realized that the rich history of African Americans in her community wasn’t well-reflected in the library’s archival collection. So, with the help of the National Endowment for the Humanities’ “Match-Your-Project” tool, she was able to find and apply for a Common Heritage grant, which was developed to help small to mid-size organizations digitize archival materials and perform community outreach about preservation.