A Publication of the Public Library Association Public Libraries Online

Brian Johnston Author Archive


Email: bjohnston@lincolnlib.org  


Indie Book Review

Cubsessions: Famous Fans of Chicago’s North Side Baseball Team & Their Stories of Pain, Loyalty, Hope and (Finally) Joy

It is perhaps the biggest sports story in American history: The Chicago Cubs. After 108 years without a championship and decades as our pop culture symbol of futility, the Cubs won the World Series in 2016. From the many years of frustration to the joy of finally winning it all, there are many remarkable stories of Cubs fandom.

ebook reviews

Serendipity: Seemingly Random Events, Insignificant Decisions, and Accidental Discoveries that Altered History

To achieve fame and success requires a lot of hard work and determination. Yet it often requires some good fortune as well. Thomas Thorson tells many of these stories in his book, Serendipity: Seemingly Random Events, Insignificant Decisions, and Accidental Discoveries that Altered History.

ebook reviews

Review – Be Brave: A Wife’s Journey Through Caregiving by Florrie Munat

Losing a spouse or a close family member is one of the most painful experiences any of us can face.

Indie Book Reviews Graphic

Review – Housing Projects, Mansions & Schools: An Educator’s Odyssey by Roger Prosise

Our history is filled with examples of people who rose from difficult circumstances to achieve remarkable things. We often hear about them in politics,  sports, and entertainment. We don’t hear about them as often in other areas of life, but perhaps we should. This is why I found Roger Prosise’s book, Housing Projects, Mansions & Schools: An Educator’s Odyssey to be an interesting read.

Ebook review header

Review – War, Spies, & Bobby Sox: Stories About World War II at Home by Libby Hellmann

This book features three short fictional stories of WWII on the American homefront, an angle on the conflict that hasn’t received as much attention in our popular culture as other aspects of the war have.

ebook reviews

Review – Called Out: A Novel of Base Ball and America in 1908 by Floyd Sullivan

Today, professional baseball is a multi-billion dollar industry. But back in 1908, it was still experiencing growing pains. As the young game exploded in popularity, it was also rife with scandal, while unruly behavior from fans often gave baseball a bad name.